Mobile Data Saving Tips for Your Android Phone

When I moved from a BlackBerry Curve to an Android phone about 2 years ago, getting my Android (Samsung Galaxy Chat B5330) to consume mobile data like my BlackBerry, was a serious challenge. With my BlackBerry, I mainly used apps like Whatsapp, Viber, FourSquare, Facebook and Twitter, and in a month I would consume about or less than 250MB. This served me for a long time, much so that towards the end of the month I would start watching YouTube videos on my BlackBerry just to exhaust the unused data left.

Finally, in the last few months or so, I figured that I was consuming about 200MB of data per month. The 500MB monthly plan I got was now going to waste! So I’ve listed the 2 things that I do to keep my monthly data consumption as low as possible on my Android phone, because I believe other may have had the same challenge as I did.

1. Turn WiFi On

Using WiFi has saved me so much data, and the first tip is to use WiFi as MUCH as POSSIBLE! Unfortunately, not many people have this option, but if you do, then good for you. The Android OS has a feature where if a WiFi signal is available with internet, it switches to WiFi for internet instead of your mobile data.

2. Restrict Background Data

This is the main data saving tip, but still depends on WiFi in a way. What you should do is go to “Data Usage” under Settings, then scroll down and see which apps consume the most data. Once you fine one, tap to go in, and you will see which process consumes the most data… Foreground or Background.

Foreground data consumption means when you open the app and are using it, which Background data consumption means while the app is closed or not in use (like notifications, etc.).

What I do normally is that, if the Background data is more than the Foreground data, then I would check the “Restrict background data” option. What this does is that you will not get notifications while using mobile data. As soon as internet is available via WiFi, then you  would get notifications. However, if you open the app by yourself, you will get notifications.

If on the other hand, the Foreground data is more than the Background data, then I simply just don’t open the app until I have access to internet via WiFi, or I open the app ONLY when I need to.

3. Mobile Websites

Another trick I use is to access the mobile versions of the websites for apps that consume a lot of data. For instance, I noticed that Foursquare took a lot of MB, so I dropped the app and started doing my check-in’s through the Foursquare mobile website through my mobile browser. I did the same for Twitter, Facebook and Instagram (except when uploading on Instagram) as well… saved me a lot.

4. Use a Computer!

If you have internet access on your computer, and if you do not NEED to be online all the time, then drop your mobile and use your computer, please! I never use Facebook on my mobile, and I only use Twitter a few times a month. Why? I have internet on my computer. Once I get off the computer, I do not have to be on facebook until the next time I’m on my computer (the next day or a couple of hours later). If you run a business and need access to say Facebook, all the time, then your business probably pays the bills and you don’t need this guide anyways, right?

So that’s it… It works for me and this is have I consume about 300MB (or less) of data monthly 🙂

 

If you have any mobile data saving tips, please do share in the comments section below. If you tried these tips and it worked for you, please let us know about your experience, and share it with friends.

2 thoughts on “Mobile Data Saving Tips for Your Android Phone

  1. Reay Jespersen October 30, 2015 / 22:39

    Thanks for the useful tips. Could you explain briefly how using the mobile site for places like Facebook helps cut down on data? I’m just confused about it because I would have thought that whether through the app or accessing the mobile website, it’s pulling the same data (your newsfeed, photos, etc.) onto your phone.
    Any insight you can offer to clarify that would be very much appreciated.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kheme October 30, 2015 / 22:55

      Often times,the mobile site is a scaled-down version of the main website. That means less data has to be pulled from the internet. Being a mobile site, you usually just pull data that you need let action, and nothing more. Even the Facebook app has a “data saving” feature which you can turn off or on. It could be different for different apps though, but I experienced less data consumption in general while using Mobile sites then when using mobile apps, in most cases.

      Like

Leave a Reply

