Blue double ticks on Whatsapp

This morning, a friend asked me “why is your whatsapp blue?”. I wasn’t sure, so I went back to a few messages I had sent because yesterday, I noticed some of them had blue double ticks. I did a little research, and it turns out that the latest version of #whatsapp finally has the so desired “read” notification (from BBM).

If you’re used to whatsapp, the single tick means your message was sent. Double tick means it was delivered to the recipient’s device. But until now, there was no way to tell if the message had been read or not. Now with this new feature, the blue double tick indicates that the message has been read by the recipient 🙂 I had wanted this for sooo long.

Whatsapp blue double tick

Also, if you press and hold a message that has the blue double ticks, in the menu that appears, you can tap the information icon to see what time the message was delivered as well as what time it was seen. I strongly suggest you all update your whatapp apps now, if you haven’t already done so.

So what features do you also desire on whatsapp that are present in other messaging apps you use?

Leave a Reply

